Djokovic, Serena are Laureus sportspersons of 2016

Djokovic, Serena are Laureus sportspersons of 2016

Tennis star Novak Djokovic has been crowned the Laureus sportsman of the year at the annual Laureus World Sports Awards.

Also, Serena Williams clinched the Laureus sportswoman of the year award in Berlin on Monday.

Would number one Djokovic reached all four grand slam finals last year – winning three of them – while also claiming eight other titles on the ATP World Tour.

Williams, meanwhile, reaffirmed her status as world number one with the same number of grand slam wins, along with two other titles on the WTA Tour.

New Zealand’s Rugby World Cup-winning All Blacks were named team of the year.

Their fly-half Dan Carter won the comeback of the year award after his man-of-the-match performance in the final.

Golfer Jordan Spieth took out the breakthrough of the year award after the 22-year-old won the Masters and U.S. Open in 2015.

Brazil’s Paralympic swimmer Daniel Dias was sportsperson of the year with a disability for a third time after earning seven gold medals at last year’s IPC Swimming World Championships.

German triathlete and 2015 World Ironman champion Jan Frodeno was named action sportsperson of the year.

Meanwhile, three-time Formula One world champion Niki Lauda was given a lifetime achievement award.

Johan Cruyff, who died of cancer on March 24 aged 68, was also given a special spirit of sport award in recognition of his work.
Cruyff helped to deliver sport-related projects for underprivileged children around the world.

Post Comments


Djokovic, Serena are Laureus sportspersons of the year