Goal-line technology will be used at the Copa America for the first time, the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) of the Centenario edition announced.

The 16-nation tournament will be played at 10 U.S. sites from June 3-26.

The LOC revealed Hawk-Eye technology will be installed at all 10 stadiums for the 100th anniversary edition of the tournament, hosted by the United States.

The system features seven cameras per goal and uses control software to track the ball within the goal area, with referees informed whether or not a goal has been scored within one second of the incident via a vibration and visual signal on each official’s watch.

It is the first time goal-line technology has been used in a tournament organized by either CONMEBOL or CONCACAF.

The special-edition Copa, which kicks off on June 3, is being hosted outside of South America for the first time, and features an extra four invitees from Central America.

Chile is the defending champion of the tournament after defeating 14-time winner Argentina on penalties in the 2015 final.

A special one-off tournament featuring 10 teams from South America and six countries from North and Central America and the Caribbean, the Copa América Centenario will begin on June 3 when the US faces Colombia at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California. The tournament will conclude on June 26 with the final at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Chile are defending champions of the tournament after defeating 14-time winners Argentina on penalties in the 2015 final.

Hawk-Eye will also be used at next month’s Euro 2016 tournament, while it has already been seen in the Premier League and Germany’s Bundesliga, as well as the 2014 World Cup.

Organizers also announced the match officials Wednesday. Three of the 18 referees are from the United States: Mark Geiger, Jair Marrufo and Armando Villarreal. Geiger officiated three games at the 2014 World Cup, including a second-round matchup between France and Nigeria in which he became the first American to referee a knockout stage match at the sport’s top tournament.

The other referees are Joel Aguilar (El Salvador), Jose Argote (Venezuela), Julio Bascunan (Chile), Enrique Caceres (Paraguay), Victor Carrillo (Peru), Andres Cunha (Uruguay), Roberto Garcia (Mexico), Heber Lopes (Brazil), Patricio Loustau (Argentina), Yadel Martinez (Cuba), Ricardo Montero (Costa Rica), John Pitti (Panama), Wilmer Rodan (Colombia), Gery Vargas (Bolivia) and Roddy Zambrano (Ecuador).

For up-to-date news and updates on Copa Americaa, USA 2016, follow us here on our website, facebook page, and on twitter @sportsmo3!

Post Comments


Copa America 2016